INEC swears in 19 new RECs

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has sworn-in 19 newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has sworn in 19 newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

President Muhammadu Buhari, July, transmitted the names of the 19 REC nominees to the Senate for confirmation. They were confirmed on October 5 amid protests by Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and other groups.

Five of the 19 were returnees for their second and last five-year tenure.

Those whose tenure were renewed were Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa); Obo Effanga (Cross River); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Agboke Olaleke (Ogun) and Professor Samuel Egwu (Kogi).

The 14 others on fresh five-year appointment are: Onyeka Ugochi (Imo); Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto); Prof. Ayobami Salami (Oyo); Zango Abdu (Katsina); and Queen Agwu (Ebonyi).

Others are: Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Prof. Yahaya Ibrahim (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Garki (FCT); Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Prof. Uzochukwu Chijioke (Anambra) and Mohammed Nura (Yobe).

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, noted that each of the RECs brings to the Commission, knowledge and experience in various fields.

According to him, in terms of professional background, nine were from the academia, including professors; two lawyers; an accountant; a retired Ambassador and six civil/public servants, including retired Permanent Secretaries.

Speaking on behalf of the RECs, Obo Effanga, assured that they would be bounded by the oath of allegiance to Nigeria and also discharge their responsibilities in accordance to the guidelines and other provisions of their appointment to deepen the integrity of the electoral system in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts
Read More

Lagos HoS Commends Civil Service Commission On Maiden Career Week Programme

The Lagos State Head of Service, Mr. Hakeem Muri-Okunola, has commended the State Civil Service Commission for organising a three-day sensitisation programme tagged: “Career Week Programme” for Permanent Secretaries, Directors of Human Resource and Administration, and Schedule officers in the Administrative and Human Resource Directorates in the State Public Service.