APC Lagos opts for consensus candidates


Babatunde Balogun APC Lagos Consensus Chairman

Following what can be described as a high level politicking by the leadership of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State, yesterday. The leadership supported the idea of consensus. The consensus list emerged after a meeting of the Governor’s Advisory Council (GAC) headed by APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu on Thursday in Lagos. The new chairman in the person of Hon Babatunde Alade Balogun will be unveiled at the Congress on Saturday.

Balogun, aged 67, is the son of Late Asiwaju of Lagos Chief Wahab Iyanda Balogun. He was born on 31st March 1951 in the city of Lagos. Balogun, a relatively dark horse, hails from Apapa Local Government in Lagos Central Senatorial District. He attended Tinubu Methodist Primary School, Lagos from 1957, later to Ahmadiyyah (Now Anwar-ul- Islam) College Agege, where he earned the West African Schools Certificate (WASC).

In the same institution, he obtained the High School Certificate (HSC) where in his capacity as the Senior Prefect , he emerged as the best student of the year and won John F. Kennedy Memorial Essay Contest organised for Nigerian schools by the United State Information Services (USIS) in Lagos in 1973.

He graduated from Ahmadu Bello University Zaria in 1976 with a B.Sc (Hon) in Social Science.

On the political scene, he served as the Commissioner for Commerce and Industry between 2002 and 2003 and later as the Commissioner For Home Affairs and Culture from 2003 to 2007 in the Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu- led Administration.

An astute businessman, Balogun is serving as the Chairman /Managing Director, Bailey -Babs Nigeria Ltd since 1982 to date. He is specialized in computer sales and services. Balogun, who is married with children has chains of business around the world.

Meanwhile, other state executives who will emerge through consensus, according to sources within the party, are Deputy Chairman, Chief Sunny Ajose, former Lagos State Head of Service (HOS), Secretary, Dr. Wale Ahmed, former Commissioner for Special Duties, Women Leader, Mrs. Jumoke Okoya-Thomas, a former member of the House of Representatives from Lagos Central Senatorial District.

Others are the Vice Chairman, Lagos West, Chief Funsho Ologunde, Vice Chairman, Lagos Central, Hon. Bamgbola Hakeem, outgoing Secretary of Lagos APC, and Vice Chairman Lagos East, Ashipa Kaoli Olusanya.

APC Lagos Consensus FULL LIST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts
Read More

2023 General Election: Lagos CAN, NLC back Tinubu, Sanwo-Olu

The aspiration of the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, and the re-election bid of Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu have been endorsed by the Chairman of the Lagos Chapter of Christian Association Of Nigeria (CAN), Rev Stephen Adegbite, and the Chairman of the Lagos Chapter of Nigeria Labour Congress, Chief Sesi Akinsanmi.